The Candle

candleA husband and wife were unable to have children and consulted their family priest. “My children,” the priest began, “the Lord will listen to your prayers, and I am sure you will be blessed with children shortly.  I am planning a stay in Rome, and while I am visiting the Vatican, I will light a candle for you.”

“Thank you, Father, thank you!” said the couple. Before leaving, the priest turned and said, “My stay in Rome will be for quite some time—15 years. When I return, I will be sure to pay you a visit.”

So, 15 years came and went, and the priest returned home, remembering the promise of paying a visit to the couple’s home. As he rang the doorbell, sounds of crying and screaming children filled the air! Overjoyed by the thought that their prayers had been answered, he entered the house to find a dozen children and, in the midst of all the chaos, the wife.

“My dear,” the priest said, “your prayers have been answered! Where is your husband? I wish to congratulate him on your miracle!”

“He just left for Rome,” she said.

“Rome? Why did he go to Rome?” asked the priest.

The wife replied, “To blow out your candle.”

2 thoughts on “The Candle

Leave a Reply

