Excuses

ExcusesThe following are allegedly some actual statements found on insurance forms where drivers attempted to summarise the details of an accident in the fewest words possible:

Coming home, I drove into wrong house and collided with a tree I don’t have.

I thought my window was down, but found it was up when I put my head through it.

The other car collided with mine without giving warning of its intentions.

I collided with a stationary car going the other way.

A truck backed through my windshield into my wife’s face.

A pedestrian hit me and went under my car.

The guy was all over the road.  I had to swerve a number of times before I hit him.

I pulled away from the side of the road, glanced at my mother-in-law and headed over the embankment.

In my attempt to kill a fly, I drove into a telephone pole.

As I approached the intersection a sign suddenly appeared in a place where no stop sign had ever appeared before.

My car was legally parked as it backed into the other vehicle.

An invisible car came out of nowhere, struck my car and vanished.

I told the police that I was not injured, but upon removing my hat found that I had a fractured skull.

I was sure the old fellow would never make it to the other side of the curb when I struck him.

The indirect cause of the accident was a little guy in a small car with a big mouth.

Have you ever noticed that some people just won’t take responsibility for their own problems?  It is as if their tension at work or home, their difficulties and their shortcomings are always someone else’s fault.  (Are these the same people who always expect you to get out of their way when you’re approaching them in a shopping centre or along a footpath?).

It is a pretty simple and yet not so simple thing to say “I was wr…wr…wrr…wro…ng”.  Maybe the world would be that much more peaceful place if we all thought a little less about what others owe us and adopted greater humility and concern for the well-being and even the rights of others.  This might help to expose the pathetic nature of some of the excuses we can so easily make for our own poor form.

I find it helpful to remember the words of Paul in Philippians 2 who said that we should look to the needs of others, rather than ourselves, having the same attitude as that of Christ who took on the nature of a servant.  Imagine our selfish Western world living by a statement so profound as this in every area of life!  What could that look like?!

2 thoughts on “Excuses

Leave a Reply

