Letters to God…From Kids

If you had a burning question to ask God when you got to Heaven, then what would it be? There are probably a huge number of questions we want answers to now or feelings we want to express with passion while we are on Earth. Maybe that’s part of the journey of real prayer in a real relationship with a real God.  Kids can teach us something here.  They just say what they think…no pretence.  Try these letters to God, for instance.

Dear God, thanks for the baby brother, but what I prayed for was a puppy…

Dear God, instead of letting old people die and making new ones, why don’t you just keep the one’s you’ve already got?…

Dear God, I’m Australian, what are you?…

Dear God, I bet it’s hard for you to love everybody in the world.  There are only 4 people in my family and I can never do it…

Dear God, please put another holiday between Easter and Christmas.  There’s nothing good in there now…

Dear God, if you watch in church on Sunday, I will show you my new shoes…

Dear God, I went to a wedding and the two people kissed in church.  Is that OK?…

Dear God, if you give me a genie lamp like Aladdin, I’ll give you anything you want, except my money or my chess set…

Dear God, I read that Thomas Edison made the light, but in Sunday School they said you did.  I bet he stole your idea…

Dear God, if you let dinosaurs not be extinct we wouldn’t have a country.  You did the right thing…

Dear God, maybe if you let Cain and Abel have their own rooms they wouldn’t kill each other.  It works with my brother…

Dear God, if I have to come back as something, please don’t let it be my next door neighbour because I hate her…

So, what could your letter to God be?  How do you think he’d answer?  Why not consider running it by someone who knows the Bible fairly well and see if they agree.  Arriving at an informed solution to the puzzles of life can really clarify our thinking and our feelings, but it can also importantly help us to point us a little closer to God who, for many, seems so elusive because they don’t think he’d really be that interested in their questions.   Why not try them out?

Leave a Reply

